Wordle

Wordle is meant to be word art, but it’s brilliant for identifying overused words. That’s not it’s primary purpose, of course, but since the most frequently used words come out larger in the resulting graphic, that’s certainly what it can be used for. I’ve been loading in my work in progress one chapter at a time (yes, it happily eats 5,000 words without burping) and finding that my most frequently used words are (surprisingly) back and (unsurprisingly) get, got, head and like. That’s in addition to the words I expected to come up, such as character names, of course.

I’m a bit annoyed with myself for the gets and the gots, but glad to have caught them at this stage.

So I’ve been checking my overusage and inserting a few substitutes where I can.

Thanks, Wordle. You’ve saved me much writerly embarrassment.

Wordle

About Jacey Bedford

Jacey Bedford maintains this blog. She is a writer of science fiction and fantasy (www.jaceybedford.co.uk), the secretary of Milford SF Writers (www.milfordSF.co.uk), a singer (www.artisan-harmony.com) and a music agent booking UK tours and concerts for folk performers (www.jacey-bedford.com). She's also a Home Office / Border Agency licensed sponsor processing UK work permits (Certificate of Sponsorship).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wordle

  1. J. C. Conway says:

    Yes! I’ve used this for the precise purpose of seeing how heavy I am on this word or that. It’s wonderful, and presents in such a beautiful way.

  2. I’ve seen this before. Sounds like a grand tool. Did you have any trouble running it at first?

  3. Jacey Bedford says:

    You’re welcome. I was horrified by mine, too. Who’d have thought that ‘back’ was a word to watch out for. I always check for unnecessary iterations of weasel words like ‘just’ (not in the judiciary sense), but now i have to make sure I don’t have all my characters going back, leaning back, pulling back and sitting back.

  4. nancyrae4 says:

    This is an amazing software. I love it. Of course, I have to deal with my overused words, but what a great concept. The artist in me is thrilled and the writer is horrified, but in a good way! Thanks for sharing this word art:)

Leave a Reply

