SFWA

Over on Chuck Wendig’s Terrible Minds blog is a discussion about whether or not to join SFWA (Science Fiction Writers of America). Even though I am not of (or in)  America I have joined what amounts to a professional association of SF writers with a world-wide membership. Is it worth it? Not sure yet. See the discussion (and my comment) here: http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2014/02/24/sfwa-to-join-or-not-to-join/

 

About Jacey Bedford

Jacey Bedford maintains this blog. She is a writer of science fiction and fantasy (www.jaceybedford.co.uk), the secretary of Milford SF Writers (www.milfordSF.co.uk), a singer (www.artisan-harmony.com) and a music agent booking UK tours and concerts for folk performers (www.jacey-bedford.com). She's also a Home Office / Border Agency licensed sponsor processing UK work permits (Certificate of Sponsorship).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SFWA

  1. I don’t qualify either. Will have to think about it when, hopefully, I do cross that qualifying bridge. I know – I’ll check back with you!

  2. dergullen says:

    Last time I checked I didn’t qualify to join. At the moment I’m wondering just how relevant the organisation is, and how useful it would be to join – assuming I could. Treading water for now.

    • Jacey Bedford says:

      I qualified quite a few years ago with my third story in a MMPB DAW anthology at (I think) 6c a word when the qualifying rate was 3c, but it took me several more years to decide to give it a go. I’m hoping they might be represented at London Worldcon to show a willingness to meet British and European members halfway (they often have suites at US cons). If they don’t then I may think again. I’ve written to them to find out.

Leave a Reply

