Submitting what you write

Despite all my good intentions I realised that while I’ve been busy with my novels (revising one and writing the next from scratch) I have completely ignored my backlog of short stories.

My daft little story, The Loneliness of the Long Distance Panda was originally published in Nature’s Futures. To my delight it was reprinted in the anthology Futures2 this summer without me having to do any hassling for that honour at all. And on Friday I just received another acceptance for the same story which will appear as a reprint in Buzzymag.com in 2015. So yesterday I spent some time sending off some of my backlog of short stories to various markets and I’m smug enough to report that I now have fifty stories submitted (some of them to reprint markets and some of them to foreign language markets).

It’s interesting to see that a number of magazines now accept simultaneous submissions (which used to be a big no-no almost everywhere), though it does mean that if you sim-sub you have to keep good records so that you can let the other markets know if one, y’know, actually buys the story. Mostly, unless it’s to markets in other languages, I prefer to keep it simple and not sim-sub.

I usually track my submissions, sales (and rejections) via my own database, but the submission tracker at The Submission Grinder is quite comprehensive and effective.

I’m under no illusions that even sending off fifty subs will yield a massive amount of sales, but from now on I intend to turn a story round and send it out to another market as soon as a rejection arrives in my in-box. Let’s see if I can keep it up.

My thanks to Debora Walker, prolific writer and tireless submitter, for reminding me that you can write as much as you like, but if you don’t send it off, no one will ever read it.

About Jacey Bedford

Jacey Bedford maintains this blog. She is a writer of science fiction and fantasy (www.jaceybedford.co.uk), the secretary of Milford SF Writers (www.milfordSF.co.uk), a singer (www.artisan-harmony.com) and a music agent booking UK tours and concerts for folk performers (www.jacey-bedford.com). She's also a Home Office / Border Agency licensed sponsor processing UK work permits (Certificate of Sponsorship).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Submitting what you write

  1. Which reprint and foreign markets are you submitting to? Or would that be telling?

  2. Jacey Bedford says:

    You can find reprint markets by ticking the reprint box on the search form at The Submission Grinder (URL in the article) and for foreign markets you just have to google, but I found this useful: http://www.smithwriter.com/FML_article

  3. debs says:

    Thanks for the shout out, and keep at it! I want to see that Panda go international.

Leave a Reply

