2014 – Looking Backwards and Forwards – 2015

Looking back to 2014

Empire of Dust

Empire of Dust – Cover

2014 is the year I achieved my ambition and officially became a novelist with the publication of Empire of Dust in November. I’m still slightly surprised – even though I’ve known since mid 2013 that it was going to happen. It’s so gratifying when you open the box from the publisher and find 20 perfect copies of your own book staring up at you. As a result I made a special effort to attend more conventions than usual, so I not only went to Eastercon (which I usually attend) but also to the World Science Fiction Convention, which was in London this year, Fantasycon in York, Bristolcon and Novacon in Nottingham, where I had an unofficial book launch. Since my book is published in the USA (and not officially in the UK) there won’t be an official launch, but it’s gathered some decent reviews already.

Futures 2 Anthology

Futures 2 Anthology

I sold three short stories: Kindling the Flame to Her Dark Voice (anthology); Root and Branch to Albedo One (which I haven’t seen yet but I believe it’s out) and Last Train to Grievous Angel, which will be out some time in 2015. I had my first story tranlated into a foreign language when The Loneliness of the Long Distance Panda was translated into Galician for the Spanish SF magazine Nova Fantasia. In fact the panda story did rather well for itself, being not only translated, but being reprinted in the anthology Nature: Futures 2, and in 2015 it will be reprinted on the Buzzy Mag site. I don’t write many short stories, so three new sales and three reprints is quite a good total for me in any one year.

Looking forward to 2015

My second book, Crossways, comes out in August. I’ve finished the first draft and have until the end of March to complete all necessary revisions and polish it.ย  I’ve seen the cover illustration – another image by the amazing Stephan Martiniere – and I love it. I’m planning to attend Eastercon and Fantasycon and probably Novacon this year, but the World Fantasy and the World Science Fiction Convention are both back in the USA, so way out of my price range.

Milford (SF Writers’ Conference) is happening in September and I expect to be there as usual. Spending a week an fabulous surroundings, kettled up with a bunch of like-minded writers always gives me a great writing-energy boost.

About Jacey Bedford

Jacey Bedford maintains this blog. She is a writer of science fiction and fantasy (www.jaceybedford.co.uk), the secretary of Milford SF Writers (www.milfordSF.co.uk), a singer (www.artisan-harmony.com) and a music agent booking UK tours and concerts for folk performers (www.jacey-bedford.com). She's also a Home Office / Border Agency licensed sponsor processing UK work permits (Certificate of Sponsorship).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2014 – Looking Backwards and Forwards – 2015

  1. Shara says:

    Congrats on your great year! I’m looking forward to getting my grubby paws on your book to give it a whirl…. Tor.com’s review of it really caught my eye, and I’m so jealous you’ve got Martiniere for your cover art!

    Here’s to 2015!

    • Jacey Bedford says:

      Thanks very much. Yes, having Ste[han Martiniere do the cover art is brilliant. I’ve just seen his illustration for ‘Crossways’, the sequel due in August, and it’s fantastic! I can’t show it yet, but as soon as I can, you’ll see it here first.

Leave a Reply

