Winterwood Page Proofs

I’ve been concentrating on the first draft of Silverwolf, the second novel in the Rowankind sequence, which will follow on from Winterwood, due to be published in February 2016. Now I have to break off because my final obligation to the writing of Winterwood arrived today – the page proofs.

I get a pdf copy one day, and a paper copy arrives on an overnight carrier the day after. I find that I spot mistakes on the paper copy that I sometimes miss on screen because it’s more like reading a real book.

This is where I get to see exactly what the inside of Winterwood will look like – and I also get to make any tiny corrections if there are any typos that I spot. Since it’s already been copy edited and since I also checked the copy edits and made some small alterations, I expect (and hope) that proof corrections will be minimal, but this is the point at which you need an eagle-eye to spot the words you actually wrote, not the words you thought you wrote. (Yes, there is a difference!)

Anyhow, seeing it in its final proof form makes it seem even more real. I just need to see the actual cover now!

About Jacey Bedford

Jacey Bedford maintains this blog. She is a writer of science fiction and fantasy (www.jaceybedford.co.uk), the secretary of Milford SF Writers (www.milfordSF.co.uk), a singer (www.artisan-harmony.com) and a music agent booking UK tours and concerts for folk performers (www.jacey-bedford.com). She's also a Home Office / Border Agency licensed sponsor processing UK work permits (Certificate of Sponsorship).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

