Gotten, Tannoy, and Trug

Another milestone.

I just hit send and emailed the manuscript for my fourth book to my editor. It’s 134,200 words long which is roughly the same size as Winterwood.

Silverwolf is scheduled for publication on Tuesday 3rd January 2017. It’s been through one editorial review (a content edit), but if my editor requires any fine-tuning I’m always happy to look at anything she might want me to change.

If this version is okay for her, the next step will be copy-editing. The copy editor changes my British English into American English, corrects punctuation, grammar and typos, and smooths out any clunkiness. I’ll be the first to admit that my British use of commas (or lack thereof) requires an American copy editor’s expert eye.

It’s also the copy editor’s job to make sure I haven’t used any anachronisms. I was very impressed with the copy editor of Winterwood, who even went as far as checking historical maps to make sure that I was using street names current in London in 1800. (I was, but it’s comforting to know my copy editor agreed.)

I know that some authors struggle against copy editors who rephrase things extensively. I’ve been lucky that copy edits (so far) have been relatively light, though if I’ve used a British word that doesn’t work for the American market there may be changes. I can understand why Americans might not get the word ‘trug’ (look it up), but I was really surprised to have the word ‘tannoy’ challenged in one of my psi-tech books. I do get to check and argue against changes if I feel very strongly, but mostly I appreciate the changes. I did, however, manage to revert my copy editor’s three ‘gottens’ in Winterwood back into something I could live with. (I appreciate the word is perfectly legitimate in US English, but not in the ‘voice’ of my English narrator.)

So while I wait for further comments from my editor, I’m going back to writing the first draft of Nimbus, my upcoming fifth novel – third in the Psi-Tech trilogy. I’ll be aiming at a first draft of approximately 150,000 words knowing that there’s every likelihood of adding another 20 – 30,000 words at the fiirst content edit stage. Empire of Dust is 171,000 words and Crossways is 173,000.

About Jacey Bedford

Jacey Bedford maintains this blog. She is a writer of science fiction and fantasy (www.jaceybedford.co.uk), the secretary of Milford SF Writers (www.milfordSF.co.uk), a singer (www.artisan-harmony.com) and a music agent booking UK tours and concerts for folk performers (www.jacey-bedford.com). She's also a Home Office / Border Agency licensed sponsor processing UK work permits (Certificate of Sponsorship).
This entry was posted in fantasy, science fiction, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gotten, Tannoy, and Trug

  1. It’s all very exciting! And it’s great to get an insight into the author-publisher relationship.

  2. Karen Williams says:

    I hate the word “gotten” too.

    • Jacey Bedford says:

      Re: gotten: when I’ve spent time in the US I find that I get used to hearing it and so it sits more easily on my ear – and I know it’s an archaic form that survived in the US and died out in the UK, so it could very possibly have been in use in 1800 – but I still can’t quite bring myself to use it. It sounds better in an American accent. It’s one of those words that is irrevocably tied in with my perceptions of ungrammatical broad Yorkshire dialect where it comes out as gott’n. (As in: ‘Ah’ve not gott’n nowt.’) Don’t get me wrong, Yorkshire dialect is beautiful in the right place, but in this instance I’m not writing in Yorkshire dialect. 🙂

Leave a Reply

