Heading for Helsinki and Worldcon

I’m running away from home for ten days, leaving Best Beloved and the dog to look after each other, and I’m heading for Helsinki, to The 75th World Science Fiction Convention at the Messukeskus Convention Centre on the outskirts of Helsinki. I’m travelling with my writer-friend, Carl Allery, and after Worldcon finishes we’re going to take a couple of days to look round Helsinki itself, and then we’ll be taking the ferry across to Tallinn in Estonia for a couple of days. More about all that – with photographs – when we arrive home.

I’m looking forward to meeting up with old friends, and to making new ones, and, of course, seeing my editor, Sheila Gilbert, who is once more nominated for a Hugo in the Editor, Long Form category, which she won last year.

I was going to reblog something instead of writing an involved blog post for next Tuesday, but I decided to  let you choose for yourselves. My blog index is coming up in a separate post. have at the archive.

Send a comment if you’ll be in Helsinki for the con.

About Jacey Bedford

Jacey Bedford maintains this blog. She is a writer of science fiction and fantasy (www.jaceybedford.co.uk), the secretary of Milford SF Writers (www.milfordSF.co.uk), a singer (www.artisan-harmony.com) and a music agent booking UK tours and concerts for folk performers (www.jacey-bedford.com). She's also a Home Office / Border Agency licensed sponsor processing UK work permits (Certificate of Sponsorship).
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heading for Helsinki and Worldcon

  1. Jacey Bedford says:

    Wonderful. I’m not sure what my schedule is yet. Are you on any panels? My only panel is Sunday at 3.00 – ‘History as Worldbuilding’. If you have the opportunity come and find me. (Or let me know whete you’re going to be.)

    • Irina says:

      If I’d known there were so many wonderful things on Sunday I’d have booked until Monday… But I’ll probably be in church in the morning, and at the airport in the afternoon, because I have a plane at 18:15. That panel is indeed one of the things I’ll be sorry to miss! (But we’ll probably run into each other anyway)

  2. Irina says:

    I will! My first ever Worldcon.

Leave a Reply

