Agent Update

Way back in February and March 2016 I posted parts one and two ‘About Literary Agents and How to Get One’. You can read part one here and part two here.

Yes, go and read them if you like, I’ll wait.

Back again?

Well, you’ll notice that I’d already had three literary agents when I wrote that article… but now it’s four.

Lost another one? You might well ask, but the fact of the matter is that Amy has moved out of being a literary agent and into another branch of publishing.

If you were paying attention when reading the history of my efforts to snag a good literary agent, you might recall that when I signed on with Agent #2 she was part of a big New York agency. Though #2 was my agent, my contract was actually with the literary agency, not with #2 personally. However when #2 decided to leave the big agency and set up on her own, I was faced with a decision. I could either stay with the agency, in which case they would have had to team me up with one of their other agents – an unknown quantity who may or may not like my writing – or I could resign from the agency and stick with agent #2 and become her personal client. I liked her enough to do that, so when – a year and a bit later – she decided to get out of agenting altogether, I was left high and dry. It’s not a unique story. Agents move, change, retire, or even die. A writer can find themselves abandoned for any number of reasons, and have to start the lit-agent search again.

Anyhow, you can imagine that I was disappointed to learn that Amy was leaving the Donald Maass Literary Agency behind because we’d got on well, and she’d negotiated contracts for my first five books. I sincerely wish her all the best in her career move. However this time, I knew I was in safe hands because my contract was with the agency, and DMLA has a great reputation. Of course, finding a compatible agent within the agency was still going to be a big leap of faith.

donald-maass-photo

Don Maass

Imagine my delight when I had a long skype conversation with Don Maass himself, and to cut a long story very short, he is my new agent! Wow, I could hardly have hoped for something this great. I’ve long been an admirer of his books: Writing the Breakout Novel, and The Fire in Fiction. Both highly recommended. He’s got a new book coming out – in fact it’s out in the USA already but I haven’t got my copy in the UK, yet: The Emotional Craft of Fiction.

Save

Save

About Jacey Bedford

Jacey Bedford maintains this blog. She is a writer of science fiction and fantasy (www.jaceybedford.co.uk), the secretary of Milford SF Writers (www.milfordSF.co.uk), a singer (www.artisan-harmony.com) and a music agent booking UK tours and concerts for folk performers (www.jacey-bedford.com). She's also a Home Office / Border Agency licensed sponsor processing UK work permits (Certificate of Sponsorship).
This entry was posted in writing, fantasy, science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Agent Update

  1. That’s fabulous news. Well done. And he’s cute.

Leave a Reply

